Historic House Museum
2715 Q Street, NW
Washington, DC, 20007

Phone: 202-337-2288
Fax: 202-337-0348

See map: Google Maps

Standing on the heights of Georgetown for over two centuries, this fine Federal-period house showcases period furniture and decorative arts of the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Dumbarton House was the home of Joseph Nourse, first Register of the U.S. Treasury, and his wife, Maria, from 1804 to 1813. Bought and renamed Belle Vue by Charles Carroll, the house would host Dolley Madison on August 24, 1814, after she fled the White House and advancing British troops during the War of 1812. In 1915 when the Dumbarton ("Q Street") Bridge was built over Rock Creek, the house was moved 100 feet to its present site, to allow the extension of Q Street into Georgetown.

The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America, headquartered here, purchased the house in 1928 and restored it to its early 19th century character with the help of local architect Horace W. Peaslee and architectural historian Fiske Kimball. Changing the house's name to "Dumbarton House," The NSCDA opened the house to the public in 1932.

Today Dumbarton House is one of the few stately brick homes in Washington to survive the heady days when the country and its capital were new. The design of the house reflects the shift from Georgian tradition to the Adamesque Federal Style that would take hold as the new republic defined itself.


Tuesday-Sunday, 11:00AM to 3:00PM (last museum entry is 2:45PM)

Dumbarton House is closed all Federal Holidays


This template controls the elements:

TOP: Top Links (Home, Donate, Events, Contact), Social Network Buttons, Tagline, Tagline Image

FOOTER: Footer Links (Privacy Policy, Contact, Donate), Footer Descriptions

* This message is only visible in administrative mode